We’ll Never Be Apart – ARC

22010129

Title: We’ll Never Be Apart

Author: Emiko Jean

Series: Standalone

Cupcake: Lemon Coconut

Quick Rating: 3 stars

 

 

 

 

 

The Review:

I received a free advanced copy through NetGalley- this has in no way affected my review.

Let me start by saying that I think a lot of how much people enjoyed this book was very much linked to whether they guessed the ending or not. I did not, so I rated it higher than some. The plot took me a long time to get into, which meant that it took me a few tries to really read it. I felt like I was powering through a lot of places just to get through to the journal entries, to get to the information about Cellie. I understand the need for some suspense, but I felt that a lot of the time spent on the present was repetitive.

Honestly, it was only toward the end that I started to really get into the plot. Once Alice starts unraveling the truth, and you start to understand what’s going on, you just get this feeling of utter disbelief, and then it’s super exciting. But again, you have to be someone like me who hadn’t figured out (and hadn’t tried to figure out) the plot ahead of time.

The unreliable narrator took me by surprise to an extent, because I’m not big into mysteries, so I’m unfamiliar with the signs of one. But that was a really neat twist (since I didn’t know ahead of time, though I really should have suspected). The journal entries and the glimpses of Cellie were what I was really interested in- I didn’t like Alice, I was unnerved by Jason, and Chase didn’t strike me as well as a better bad boy would have. But I give them some slack- they’re all crazy. But Cellie was the character shrouded in mystery, so demented and twisted that you couldn’t help but want to know what she was all about.

What actually happened threw me for a loop. And maybe that means I’m not a very critical reader when it comes to mystery or what, but I didn’t try to figure it out beforehand, I had no clue what was going on, and it was just…awesome. That’s what pushed this book up from ‘okay’ to ‘liked it’ for me.  But I’m not going to say more about the characters so that I don’t give anything away– they were crazy, so they were unpredictable, and it got pretty interesting there at the end.

Overall, I give this one 3 stars, because only at the end was I truly invested in any of the characters other than Cellie.

The Cupcake:

lemon-coconut-cupcakes-italian-meringue-buttercream150404img_9293
Source: American Heritage Cooking

This lemon coconut cupcake is bright like the fire that Jason is obsessed with, and the tart lemon filling will give you a little kick, just like the realization at the end of the novel. The thick Italian meringue buttercream frosting will soothe your jangles nerves during some of the more…intense scenes. You can find the recipe from Lindsey at American Heritage Cooking, a great site for classic recipes- and not just cupcakes!

Check back soon for another bookycake collision, and don’t forget to subscribe!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Oooooo! I LOVE your blog concept! As a certified bibliophile, I can’t wait to get more suggestions for books (and cakes…obviously there must be sweets). And thanks for featuring my lemon cupcakes 🙂

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      Thank you so much! You’re right- sweets are a must! I was happy to feature your gorgeous cupcakes- they were perfect!

      Like

Leave a Reply

