A Tyranny of Petticoats

on

22020592

Title: A Tyranny of Petticoats

Author: Various; edited by Jessica Spotswood

Series: A Tyranny of Petticoats, Vol. 1

Cupcake: Peach Cobbler

Quick Rating: 3 stars

 

 

 

 

The Review:

It’s hard to give this a star-level rating because the stories inside ranging from 1 to 5 stars for me, but I gave it 3 because that’s the ‘happy medium.’ I only LOVED two of the stories- Pearls, by Beth Revis (who I love already), and The Legendary Garrett Girls by Y. S. Lee. Several of the others I enjoyed, but some I did not like- the ones that included supernatural elements (because I picked up this book for historical fiction, not for ghosts and mysterious happenings), and those from the period of the 1900s (which is not to say those won’t appeal to someone else; I just prefer reading about periods farther back in history).

I’ll only give a detailed review for the ones I loved, because I like to talk about things I love more than things I’m disappointed in. Usually.

The Legendary Garrett Girls– I love Y.S. Lee’s other mystery series, I love Will Hobb’s Gold Rush Alaska books, and I loved this story about two sisters on their own, outsmarting the meanest man in the north. It’s intuitive, exciting, and the perfect subject for a short story. I may not have been interested in reading that all drawn out, but it captivated me in just a few pages.

Pearls– Beth Revis is some kind of goddess, surely. Her Across the Universe series is one of my absolute favorites, and I love her historical fiction as well. A girl running from a painful mistake and taking refuge in a Wyoming shack of a schoolhouse took me back to my Little House on the Prairie days- but this was for older me. The resolution was nothing short of wonderful, and I literally cheered those girls on as they took matters into their own hands. It will long be a cherished story to me, and I can’t wait for more Beth Revis!

The Cupcake:

Peach_Cobbler_Cupcakes_N5
Source: Life, Love, and Sugar

Yum, yum, YUM. Don’t those look delicious? Cinnamon and peach and whipped cream on top, these peach cobbler cupcakes are the perfect treat for tales of bygone ladies. The unique flavor combination pairs well with the different writing styles of the authors featured in this anthology, and the warm southern treat even meets in the middle with some of the stories featuring strong southern ladies. And they match the cover pretty well, to boot! You can find the recipe at Life, Love, and Sugar by clicking on the link!

Cupcake on, and stay tuned for more collisions!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

