Defending Taylor~ARC

22846823Title: Defending Taylor

Author: Miranda Kenneally

Series: Hundred Oaks

Release Date: July 5, 2016

Cupcake: Chocolate Coffee with Espresso Frosting

Quick Rating: 4 Stars

 

 

 

The Review:

Well, this was my very first Miranda Kenneally books, and I wasn’t disappointed! I had a lot of fun with this one, and I think it helped that I was in the mood for a light contemporary read. This felt like it was in the vein of First & Then– hometown sports, a little bit of conflict, but ultimately a romance taking center stage. I will have to say that I didn’t really like Taylor. I couldn’t relate to her for the most part, and though I understood her reasoning, I thought it was ridiculous the way she acted on her reasoning. But I loved Ezra, and thought that the conflict was just enough to make it- well, a novel- but not enough to make this what you might call a ‘serious read.’ The forgiveness came quickly (maybe even too quickly?) and so did the happiness.  I don’t have much to say about this one other than it was an easy, fun read, perfect for a weekend or beach outing. Four stars, overall, because I didn’t really connect with the characters as well as I have with other books like this.

The Cupcake:

dsc_09771
Source: Revamperate

Coffee is the not-so-secret vice of the majority of Taylor’s family. Her daily trips to Starbucks prompt a meeting or two with a landscaping lion and then facilitate her relationship with Ezra, becoming a running joke and making coffee the key. This chocolate coffee cupcake with an espresso frosting is just the treat to get you in sync with Taylor, Ezra, and the rest of the crew. You can find the recipe at the lovely blog Revamperate, which has all sorts of delicious recipes and photos to make your mouth water.

Keep on cupcaking!

Leave a Reply

