The Young Elites

20821111Title: The Young Elites

Author: Marie Lu

Series: The Young Elites, #1

Cupcake: Banana Split

Quick Rating: 3 stars

 

 

 

 

The Review:

Yeah, so this one was kind of a mixed bag again. It started off slow to me, but the mystery seemed to speak for itself and I was excited to get into the real truth. This was my 3rd attempt at reading it (one time before with the book, one with the audio) and apparently that was the charm, because I finally got hooked.

The hook didn’t last. About halfway through, I started to lose interest. The plot became nearly nonexistent, and it all started to blend together. I mean, maybe I hoped for too much, but even plot-stop for romance would have been okay. Instead, it was always Adelina feeling conflicted. (Okay, I get it, it’s a villain origin story, but there wasn’t much that was villainous about her until the very end, and even then it wasn’t much). To me, Adelina’s whole character read like a lonely little girl who can’t make up her mind.

Anyway, I was confused a lot, looking back, and I know that because I felt absolutely no remorse at the big tragic end scene that I suppose was intended to be the turning point for Adelina? I didn’t really care. I just wanted to be done. The secondary characters could have been filled out so much more– the fleeting glimpses of them weren’t enough to elicit the strong emotions toward them that would have really been a benefit to this book, and I think they could have been really interesting elements if they had larger roles.

To be perfectly honest, I did enjoy this book for the purpose it served- occupying me for a 4-hour car ride to and from a wedding. However, I find myself still missing Six of Crows, so take my advice and go read that one instead.

The Cupcake:

banana-split-cupcake
Source: Your Cup of Cake again! LOVE these!

Okay, I try really hard not to reuse the same recipe creators so that I’ll find a wide variety, but THESE ARE PERFECT. They illustrate perfectly the light and dark warring in Adelina, with the strawberry frosting that illustrates the sweet, even face that Adelina puts on to show, counteracting her internal struggles.

Maybe I’m reading too much into cupcakes. But it’s fun! Find the recipe at Your Cup of Cake.

 

CUPCAKE ON, DUDES.

Don’t forget to follow (down at the bottom) and find me on twitter @bookycakes!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

