Break Me Like a Promise (ARC)

26073071

Title: Break Me Like a Promise

Author: Tiffany Schmidt

Series: Once Upon a Crime Family, book 2

Cupcake: Cotton Candy

Quick Rating: DNF

Thanks to NetGalley and Bloomsbury for an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

The Review:

I don’t even know, guys. I wanted to love this book SO BAD. But then I started thinking about the first book and how disappointing it was, and I just felt a little bit sad and a little bit cheated. I honestly think if this had been Carter and Magnolia fighting the Organ Act, I would have devoured it. After (highlight for spoiler) Carter’s death in book 1, it was just too much. There was no mystery. (spoiler) Garrett didn’t feature up to the point I read, (end) and Penelope is the most annoying person EVER. I wanted more. But I didn’t finish it, and I’m not too proud to admit that the fact that Alex was not my type also figured into that. I thought he was just ridiculous, and it made me sad and angry and disappointed all over again, because he’s the opposite of Carter, and Carter is my everything.

So I didn’t read very much, but I don’t think that should stop others, especially because my reasons are so petty. I didn’t even rate it, because I think the writing was awesome and I don’t want to discourage others just because of my little baby reasons. If there’s one thing I can say, it’s that these books do give you feelings. FEELINGS.

The Cupcake:

so-delicious-cotton-candy-cupcakes
Source: My Cupcake Life

Just like Magnolia’s wacky sense of style and her independent thinking, this two-toned cotton candy cupcake defies everything a cupcake should be. You might think that those two don’t mix, but in this context, they absolutely do. And just like the book, it takes something that probably wouldn’t work for me and turns it into something that others might absolutely LOVE. You can find the recipe to bake your own at My Cupcake Life.

Stay tuned for more collisions– hopefully later this week I’ll have the review of book 1 up as well, so it’s all in one place! Don’t forget to follow me, at least on twitter (@bookycakes) or on goodreads (Mikayla @ Bookycakes). Love you all! And if you have any book recs, or suggestions for reviews, feel free to share in the comments!

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

