The Darkest Minds

10576365

Title: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Series: The Darkest Minds, #1

Cupcake: Toffee Crunch

Quick Rating: 4 stars

 

The Review:

Okay! I finally read The Darkest Minds, and it only took me three years to do it. Three cheers! Well, I’m happy, anyway. So, I gave it 4 stars for mainly this reason: I thought it was a great book, really chunky and interesting (I binged it in a day), but I was really confused through a lot of it. I couldn’t figure out why she was so upset about  being different. I thought it was really cool, and an advantage, but about halfway through the book when you find out what her powers did, I understood. But I didn’t quite get it at the beginning. Also, the action sequences came hard and fast, which I would usually love, but since my brain was still trying to figure out what Ruby’s deal was, I ended up being confused even more. Of course, I was also sick, and that could have contributed to it.

In any case, I did really like this book, especially when I got everything straight in my head. I loved the slow-burn romance (I am NOT happy about the ending!!), I loved the secondary characters- Zu especially- and I didn’t predict much of what happened. There were some things that you could kind of see coming, but I’m not one for trying to figure out a book before I read it- I just let the book carry me along, for the most part, unless it’s super obvious. So I liked that part of it. I thought all the character development, especially Ruby’s, was really good, and I can’t wait to see where Alexandra takes her in Never Fade, book two.

The Cupcake:

 

toffee-crunch-cupcake_bakers-royale-211
Source: Baker’s Royale

MMMM. Like this cupcake layered in frosting, chocolate, and nuts, The Darkest Minds takes classic elements of storytelling and swirls it all into a very agreeable combination. Everything connects well (at least it did when I wasn’t confused) and just like this cupcake, you’re left feeling satisfied and ready for more sweets! You can find the recipe for this lovely cupcake at Baker’s Royale, a great source for all things baking!

Stay yummy, sweets! And don’t forget to follow!

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Becky says:

    Umm, now I want a cupcake *cries* LOL,and I loved this book!!! Great post!

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      Thanks!! Writing these always makes me hungry haha 😀

      Like

  2. Becky says:

    Umm, now I want a cupcake *cries* LOL,and I loved this book, I haven’t read the last book, but I hope to change that soon Great post!

    Like

  3. I felt the same way as you in this one. Some parts were predictable but others really surprised me. Ruby was a hard character for me to like because she is a bit of a “debbie-downer”.

    I hope you enjoy the next one!

    Lauren @ SERIESous Book Reviews #Commenting365

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      Yeah, I definitely agree! Ruby was hard to relate to for me at times. I did read the second one, but it felt like it dragged a lot more in the second half, so I haven’t read the 3rd. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m curious how you’ll enjoy the 3rd. I had the same thoughts on Never Fade as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

