My Lady Jane

22840421

Title: My Lady Jane

Author(s): Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Series: Standalone

Cupcake: Oreo-Stuffed Funfetti

Quick Rating: 5 stars

 

 

The Review :

I love this book! I love it! I LOVE IT. Honestly, when I picked it up, I had no clue where it was going to go. I thought, ‘This seems a little ridiculous,’ as I head reports of a horse-man changing the history of Lady Jane Grey. It shouldn’t work. But it DOES. There are so many fun references to classics (Shakespeare to The Princess Bride), funny little scenes where you just fall off your couch laughing, and the ridiculous parts make the book unique and unlike anything I’ve ever read.

I needed this book when I read it– I was in a bad slump, a hole of contemporary adolescent drama with no good fantasy in sight, but this one was everything I needed. It was funny. It was long (500 pages). It had a spicy heroine who wasn’t afraid to do her part, work as a team with others, and deal with things that came her way. It had a FAB love interest, G, who is a winner in his own right and really stands out in this amazing cast of characters. Not to mention the plethora of unique, interesting, developed secondary characters who appeared throughout the book. Even though it was silly and fantastic, I believed in it. I believed in the characters and wanted them to win (especially when they were quoting TPB).

Sometimes when people come out with books like these, especially when they’re so hyped, I get put off. Not this one. I was wholeheartedly invested, and for once the hype is well-deserved.

For me, this book had everything that I want in a novel, and I highly recommend it. I can’t wait to read it again.

The Cupcake:

oreo-stuffed-funfetti-cupcakes
Source: POPSUGAR

These cupcakes have it all! The cake, the cookie, the sprinkles- it’s all a big, fat, delicious combination. It pairs well with the fun flavor of My Lady Jane, and it’ll fit right in with the laughs and the happiness you’ll be feeling when you read it! You can find the recipe here, on POPSUGAR.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahhh YES. I read this book last month and enjoyed it so much – it was funny and quirky and unlike anything I’ve ever read before, like you said. The highlight is definitely the voice, for me – the fantasy/magic aspect was nothing too out of the ordinary and wasn’t terribly explored, but for a book like this that offers other things too, that’s not necessary. “Silly and fantastic” is just about right – great review! šŸ˜€

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      You’re so right! It had just about everything haha. I absolutely adored that the characters were so unique and the novel was so different. And thanks!

      Like

  2. Pinnatifid says:

    Great review! I need to get my hands on a copy!

    Like

  3. I am currently reading this one! And I love it so far! I was in a bit of a reading slump the past couple of weeks so I think this one might help me get back on track šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      I hope it does! It got me out of one, so it has a good track record!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Gabi says:

    I love this. I love this book too! and the whole concept of this blog is wonderful. ā¤

    Like

    1. kayrosela says:

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

