The Cresswell Plot

26222109Title: The Cresswell Plot

Author: Eliza Waas

Series: Standalone

Publication Date: June 7, 2016

Cupcake: Caramel Turtle

Quick Rating: 3 stars

The Review:

I’m posting this review about a month after I initially read this debut novel, so here’s the original:

Well. This was a strange unicorn of a book. I liked it a lot, don’t get me wrong, but the last like, 3/4 I didn’t really know what was going on. I liked it, but didn’t know what was happening. Still, I love books like this, and this particular one . Only 3 stars because I got a little lost,,and some of the characters did a complete 180 very suddenly.

And honestly, I didn’t want more. I liked this book sparse and strange and mysterious. I liked the way you didn’t quite know what emotion you were feeling. So yeah, I liked it, and it was short and fast, and I’ll keep thinking about it.

It’s true. I do still think about it- a lot, actually. The whole novel came off so different from anything I would have expected- and so different from a novel I expected from Disney-Hyperion. It was the perfect mix of strange and beautiful and creepy, and even though I still don’t get it, I would recommend it for anyone looking for a change of pace in their reading- and I just can’t get over how much I love that cover. So perfect.

The Cupcake:

chocolate-turtle-cupcakes-19-1
Source: Tastes of Lizzy T

These caramel turtle fudge cupcakes are, like The Cresswell Plot, quite a unicorn in the cupcake world. Is it a cupcake? Is it a brownie? Is it fudge? You’ll have to taste it to find out. Tastes of Lizzy T crafted this concoction, so be sure to check out the recipe!

Check back for another bookycake collision soon!

 

Leave a Reply

