These Shallow Graves

24187925Title:These Shallow Graves

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Series: Standalone.

Publication Date: October 27, 2015

Cupcake: Martha Stewart Devil’s Food

Quick Rating: 2 stars. Boo.

The Review:

I have tried so, so hard to love this book. This marks the 3rd time I have attempted to read it, because  I want to love it THAT MUCH. It should be perfect for me. Instead, I had to force myself through it, always promising myself that it would get better soon. And I still couldn’t finish the last 100 pages. I put it down to pick up Crooked Kingdom, and I couldn’t pick it back up again.

The biggest problem with this book, for me, was the main character. Jo Montfort grated on my nerves continuously. I understand she was struggling with wanting to leave behind the world she knew and the fear that came from doing that, and that must have contributed to it, but she was just so…wishy-washy is the only word I can think of to describe it. One moment she was desperately in love with Eddie, and the next, she couldn’t bear the thought of leaving Bram and the luxury of the life she knew (usually because she glimpsed Eddie talking/walking/briefly making eye contact with another girl. She was jealous, petty, and naive, and while I admired her bravery in following the mystery, most of the time she just made me angry.

Still, the pace was unbearably slow, and it never did pick up. Well, the 100 pages I skimmed at the end seemed pretty quick, but I didn’t stop to really read them. I mean, I’m all for 500 pages of mystery, and the mystery was excellent, but there was so much meaningless society functioning and her friends mourning over her lost prospects that it kind of sent me down the tubes.

I don’t really know what else to say. I liked parts of it. I liked the mystery and Eddie (even though I was always rooting for Bram, I’ll admit). But I did not like Jo Montfort, and that is what made me rate this 2 stars. Which is okay. But still.

The Cupcake:

mscupcakes_devils_food_hd
Source: Martha Stewart

This cupcake looks good, right. It’s probably really good. REALLY good. But it lacks a certain something…oh. Right. It’s just a plain chocolate cupcake. WHICH CAN BE DELICIOUS. But I, personally, have to be in a very specific mood to eat a plain chocolate cupcake. This book is like a plain chocolate cupcake. It’s good in theory all the time. But you kind of have to be in the mood for it. You can find this particular recipe from Martha Stewart.

Bookycake on

Leave a Reply

